No sound

Topics about the audio side of Openshot.

Moderators: Andy, Cenwen, beats

No sound

Postby cord » Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:50 pm

Hi,
New to OpenShot and testing it.
But the audio is not working.

OS
Linux 3.1.10-1.16-desktop x86_64
openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64)
KDE 4.7.2 (4.7.2) "release 5"

Using
ffmpeg 1.1-1.1

Video recorder
http://www.kohaupt-online.de/hp/
vokoscreen 1.4.5-2.1 recording screen and audio
creating avi file
playing this using ffplay, both video and audio works

testing video editor openshot 1.4.2-3.1 for export to
ogg (theora/vorbis)
MP4 (h.264/ac3)
WEBM (vpx/libvorbis)

Video works, but NO audio and the loudspeaker symbol is overcrossed in
chrome
opera
firefox


Anyone who can help out here?
cord
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:44 pm

Re: No sound

Postby Cenwen » Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:23 pm

Hi,
Could you do this FAQ (under for ffplay as you have already done) ?
https://answers.launchpad.net/openshot/+faq/983
Thanks.
Le jour où j'ai découvert le libre, j'ai su que je ne reviendrai jamais en arrière
Mon blog sur le multimédia, la photo et Openshot : http://linuxevolution.wordpress.com/
Google+ : https://plus.google.com/u/0/111472725110173916234/posts
User avatar
Cenwen
Moderator
 
Posts: 1611
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:07 pm
Location: Clermont-Ferrand-Auvergne-France

Re: No sound

Postby rrlyman » Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:38 pm

Found this hint in Handbrake documentation. Openshot defaulted to AC3 surround sound. Changing to AAC made the audio compatible with more programs.

" In an MP4, you can store MPEG-4 video created by ffmpeg or x264.
It stores audio in the AAC format. It is also possible to pass through Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound (AC3) audio from a DVD in an MP4 file, although it is a new standard and not widely supported. Perian and VLC can decode it, and the AppleTV can pass it through to a surround sound receiver.
MP4 also supports chapters, for which HandBrake uses Apple's chapter format.
MP4 also is capable of storing Variable Frame Rate video.
Be aware that chapters and AC3 audio can only be seen by QuickTime if you change the file extension from .mp4 to .m4v. HandBrake will do this for you automatically when you enable those features, although this can be disabled in the preferences if you really want .mp4 at the end of the name.
The MP4 format can also be optimized for "fast start" progressive downloads over the Web.
It can also include "soft" text subtitles that can be turned on or off, instead of always being hard burned into the video frames. "
rrlyman
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 27, 2013 5:32 pm


Return to Audio

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users