LibreShot fork?

The Libreshot fork of Openshot 1.4.3

Moderators: Andy, Cenwen, beats

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby beats » Thu Sep 24, 2015 10:00 pm

OpenShot Video Editor is programmed in Python, and thus does not need
to be compiled to run. However, be sure you have the following
dependencies in order to run OpenShot successfully:

1) Python 2.5+ (http://www.python.org)
2) GTK & pyGTK (http://www.pygtk.org)
3) GooCanvas & Python bindings (http://live.gnome.org/GooCanvas)
4) MLT Framework (http://www.mltframework.org)
5) Sox audio library
6) Frei0r video effect library
7) FFmpeg

that's what is stated on the readme, but do you know if ffmpeg is really needed in openshot?
User avatar
beats
Moderator
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:25 am

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby XXLRay » Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:02 am

Doesn't mlt still need ffmpeg? I am not sure though.
XXLRay
OpenShot Veteran
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby marianomarini » Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:22 pm

I've made the change. Now I can copy layout from clip start parameters to clip end, and viceversa. I added a button in the layout tab for this.
I've made also Italian translation for the button label.
Can I upload it with github command?
There are something that I must know and check before to do it?
User avatar
marianomarini
The voice of Experience
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby beats » Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:58 am

marianomarini wrote:Can I upload it with github command?
There are something that I must know and check before to do it?


I would say yes, for sure!

Once that you've checkout your code on the filesystem, you can start modifying files. If these files are already there, just change. them and do a commit, then a push. If you create new files, they should be added first with git add, after that, git commit -m "message", and after that a git push. A useful. cheatsheet with git detailed commands:
http://supercollider.github.io/developm ... sheet.html

Hope it helps ;-)
User avatar
beats
Moderator
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:25 am

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby marianomarini » Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:53 am

Thanks a lot.
User avatar
marianomarini
The voice of Experience
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby marianomarini » Sat Sep 26, 2015 10:22 am

I pushed my changes. Let me know.
User avatar
marianomarini
The voice of Experience
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby beats » Sat Sep 26, 2015 12:30 pm

mmm ... no i can't see the commit on: https://github.com/XXLRay/libreshot/commits/master
User avatar
beats
Moderator
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:25 am

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby marianomarini » Sat Sep 26, 2015 4:12 pm

You are right, I just pushed it.
When I try to commit this messages appear.
Code: Select all
mariano@mariano-Aspire-5551:~/libreshot$ git commit
Sul branch master
Your branch is up-to-date with 'origin/master'.
Untracked files:
   build/
   openshot/locale/it/LC_MESSAGES/OpenShot.po~
   openshot/locale/it/LC_MESSAGES/OpenShot_old.mo
   openshot/windows/ClipProperties.py~
   openshot/windows/ui/ClipProperties.ui~
   openshot/windows/ui/ClipProperties_old.ui

nothing added to commit but untracked files present
mariano@mariano-Aspire-5551:~/libreshot$
User avatar
marianomarini
The voice of Experience
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby beats » Sat Sep 26, 2015 5:14 pm

Take into accont that you have files not added... (even some ~ temp files that you don't want to push), therefore, you need to:

git add <filetoadd>
...
...

and once that you've added to your local repo, then

git commit -m "Something you want to tell about it"

Git push

and that's it
User avatar
beats
Moderator
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:25 am

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby beats » Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:55 pm

Ok, I've just finished the development machine. I've written a mini-log on what steps I did. This doesn't offer any guarantee that is stable, in fact, i did just install the "what i would say is the required packages" from an LTS stable & light install.... The only check i did was to render an animated title.... (No more time today, sorry).

Steps were published at: https://github.com/XXLRay/libreshot/wik ... nt-machine

The VM itself is a VirtualBox, bridged network. In addition, i don't want to use any VMtool or VDI integration with it, so i've just installed openssh-server and connect with ssh -X to it (and launch openshot through X-forwarding). Nothing else than keep things as minimal as i can... openssh doesn't need to be maintained, but tools does.

Let me know if you test the recipe, please.

I've also made some changes on the script to analyze installed packages and libraries.
User avatar
beats
Moderator
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:25 am

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby XXLRay » Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:41 am

Do you two also have the problem that when you cut away the start of a clip the next time you open the properties window the start time is lost.
XXLRay
OpenShot Veteran
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby beats » Sun Sep 27, 2015 11:24 am

To be completely honest, i don't use openshot too often, just quick edits where results are not needed to be professional... So i don't really know. I can try to reproduce when on desktop and let you know.

Next step for me can be automate testing with some codecs/formats... Which are your "settings of choice" when exporting videos? Can we share some sample input files for this job, throigh dropbox or something like that?
User avatar
beats
Moderator
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:25 am

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby XXLRay » Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:03 pm

You mean that you need some project files? I could prepare something. I Usually use the YouTube HD option but in 1080p
XXLRay
OpenShot Veteran
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby beats » Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:18 pm

Yeah, something we can test results with different approaches from versioning....
User avatar
beats
Moderator
 
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 11:25 am

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby marianomarini » Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:24 am

beats wrote:Take into accont that you have files not added... (even some ~ temp files that you don't want to push), therefore, you need to:

git add <filetoadd>
...
...

and once that you've added to your local repo, then

git commit -m "Something you want to tell about it"

Git push

and that's it

Thank you. 66 years old and new things to know. The life is GREAT! :D
Hope all is working.
User avatar
marianomarini
The voice of Experience
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby marianomarini » Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:35 am

XXLRay wrote:Do you two also have the problem that when you cut away the start of a clip the next time you open the properties window the start time is lost.

I try to cut start of a clip and remove it and move the remaining clip in a different place. Save the project and reopening it. All is right. The clip start exactly where I've cut it.
User avatar
marianomarini
The voice of Experience
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby XXLRay » Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:47 am

But what happens when you open the properties window at the length tab then?
XXLRay
OpenShot Veteran
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby marianomarini » Mon Sep 28, 2015 11:10 am

XXLRay wrote:But what happens when you open the properties window at the length tab then?

You are right, it show me the entire length of the original clip.
Strange enough if I enter into Start textbox the clip on the timeline start from the beginning of the origìnal clip.
I'll give it a look and try to fix it.
Thanks.
User avatar
marianomarini
The voice of Experience
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:20 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby XXLRay » Mon Sep 28, 2015 11:41 am

I guess it's because the properties window reads a wrong value for start_time when it's opened but I couldn't find out where that happens yet. That fact that the project renders properly shows that the according data is stored correctly somewhere. It works fine if you just cut the end by the way.
XXLRay
OpenShot Veteran
 
Posts: 1070
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: LibreShot fork?

Postby marianomarini » Mon Sep 28, 2015 5:40 pm

I checked it out. Cut a clip at 28 seconds and look to parameters.
Part 1 start=-0,01 end=28.0
Part 2 start=-0,01 end=177.15
The problem seem to affect only the start parameter.
I hope to fix it soon. I've not yet too much time.
User avatar
marianomarini
The voice of Experience
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:20 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Libreshot

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users